top of page

The Scorch Trials Review

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner was full of heart racing, fast moving moments.

I rated this book 4 stars.

The book started by coming out right out of the maze, throwing them right into a building with their mates and a new member, Aris. The man in the white suit that talks to them before they are officially in the Scorch tells them that he is from WICKED, an organization trying to prevent the Flare. Hard to believe when all odds are stacked against them seeming like they are in a death trap.

New characters and new secrets about WICKED are being revealed.

Personally I am not attached to Thomas, the main character. He's relatable but I do not connect to him much. But it was still a good book. But I liked how fast the book was going, the reactions to the new variables. I didn't know where the book was going, which I loved because I find most books very predictable. But I didn't connect with the characters as much as I felt like I should.

Overall this was a very good book! I would read it again but I just didn't connect with this book as I do with other books. I wish I did, but it just didn't happen. I hope I will connect with Thomas in the next book The Death Cure but other than that I would recommend this book if you are looking for a fast paced book but not if your looking for a book that you will be connected to.

Follow my Instagram and Twitter for more!

Thanks for reading!

-------------------------------------------------------

Goodreads Front Cover Description:

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch. There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die. The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them. Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off. There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

360 pages

3.94 average stars


bottom of page